What effect on SQ does the encoding used by a streaming service have?

guy48065

I'm not new to streaming but I AM new to careing about streaming quality since adding WiiMs to my home systems.
I'm unclear on the relationship between recording quality and streaming encoder quality. When I'm streaming from a source like Qobuz, Spotify, Amazon, Tidal, etc the player app displays the bitrate and the recording bit depth/sample freq.
It doesn't display the encoding used by the source. Is that because it doesn't matter?
What effect does it have on SQ?

Are 256kbps AAC and 320kbps Ogg (for example) perfectly equivalent & transparent or is that "901 kbps 16-bit/44.1kHz" on my display just an illusion?

If you stream with Qobuz, for example, all files are in FLAC format, which means that they are compressed and decompressed losslessly. This means (in theory) that there should be no audible difference between a locally played CD and the streamed identical song at 16 bit/44.1 Hz. Provided, of course, that the conversion takes place with the same DAC and the mastering of the song is actually identical.

Thank you for that interesting link, unfortunately not error-free: FLAC is lossless but is not uncompressed.

FLAC - FREE LOSSLESS AUDIO CODEC​

Type: Lossless (uncompressed)

Use Case: Good for archiving and editing.

Device Support: High - The most popular codec for audiophiles

What got me thinking about this was Spotify recommending I use Chromecast as a work-around to my issue of Spotify not finding my Ultra.
"Please enable Chromecast on the Ultra and check if the Spotify app can detect it. Please note that Chromecast streams at 256kbps AAC, while Spotify Connect streams at 320kbps Ogg, with only a minimal difference in quality."

I'm resistant to using this sort of band-aid if it lowers SQ. I never paid much attention to the subject in the past, but I recall that *how* encoders compress audio files was very controversial.