WiiM Amp - underpowered or just fine?

PawelTheBeginner

Hi,

so I'm a total beginner to all this and I need some advice. I want to set-up a simple stereo in my living room, mostly for TV, but also for music.

I'm really into WiiM Amp and I was thinking about pairing it with Klipsch R-50M.
And now my struggle begins, because when I read the numbers, the R-50Ms need continuous 75W at 8 ohms, but WiiM Amp can deliver only ~60W at 8 ohms.

So I read numerous articles and watch videos on amp-speakers matching, and the rule of thumb I heard is that the amp should have 1.5-2 times the power output that the speaker needs (to have the headroom, prevent clipping and all of that).
On the other hand - I read multiple comments from people pairing (seemingly) underpowered amps with their speakers and they reported great results (there are even few threads on this forum like this).

My question is: what's up with this amp-speaker power matching, should I really care about having the power headroom for my speakers? If I go with those R-50Ms and WiiM Amp, wouldn't it cause harm to the speakers in the long-term? Will the "clipping" be hearable at low-medium volumes?

Hi,

so I'm a total beginner to all this and I need some advice. I want to set-up a simple stereo in my living room, mostly for TV, but also for music.

I'm really into WiiM Amp and I was thinking about pairing it with Klipsch R-50M.
And now my struggle begins, because when I read the numbers, the R-50Ms need continuous 75W at 8 ohms, but WiiM Amp can deliver only ~60W at 8 ohms.

So I read numerous articles and watch videos on amp-speakers matching, and the rule of thumb I heard is that the amp should have 1.5-2 times the power output that the speaker needs (to have the headroom, prevent clipping and all of that).
On the other hand - I read multiple comments from people pairing (seemingly) underpowered amps with their speakers and they reported great results (there are even few threads on this forum like this).