Could someone please explain how Fosi amps work?

Iggy

Hi all,

Im still relatively new to this and currently running a WiiM Amp through Wharfedale Diamond 12.2’s and quite happy with it.

However I’m thinking of upgrading the speakers to maybe the Dali Oberon 5, and that’s started me thinking about doing the same with the source as well.

I’ve started reading about these Fosi Amps and how you can put two together (if I’ve understood correctly) and maybe getting a couple of these and WiiM Pro Plus or Ultra to feed some better speakers?

Would something like this be an improvement over the WiiM Amp or not?

There are so many Fosi models V3, ZA3, BT20…..and do you need one or two? From what I can see you can wire up two together, I assume one for each speaker, but does that mean you lose stereo imaging?

I’m old and confused, if someone could take pity on me and offer some clarity I’d really appreciate it 🙂

Thank you.

If you want to improve sound you should first of all consider better dac. Wiims have relative poor dacs. Dac is the real source of sound. So better dac and wiim ultra is far superior than wiim amp. As wiim amp can not use external dac - this is this model worst limitation.

Regarding fosi, if you use use two (in mono mode), result would be slightly better sound, slightly better stereo imaging and more power - so better dynamic in case of speakers with low sensitivity. But this is not so important in most cases as dac, or even used opamos. In fosi amp you can replace internal components - op amps - for better ones. Dac and op amps are far more important than mono mode.

Mono mode (pair) is not needed in case of better quality speakers, is needed only for high volumes and low sensitivity speakers.

For better quality speakers better dac is needed.