New set up — struggling amateur

Sam456

Hi all, new set up with WiiM amp and wharfdale 9.1 speakers. Connected up and play music and I’m getting some odd results. Listening to songs if there is a lot is Bass, singer with deep voice sounds good, sound of silence by disturbed sounds ok, anything that isn’t that deep I can barely hear the vocals. Playing. Pod cast people talking sounds like R2D2, but when a music jingle kicks in they sound ok. Anyone got any ideas? I’m new to all this!

Sounds strange.

What's your source? By that I mean, which input is checked in the WiiM Home app, Browse tab, section Select Source on WiiM Amp and what streaming service are you using?

Are these speakers new as well or did you use them with a different amp before?

Sounds strange.

What's your source? By that I mean, which input is checked in the WiiM Home app, Browse tab, section Select Source on WiiM Amp and what streaming service are you using?

Are these speakers new as well or did you use them with a different amp before?
Hi source is WiFi, using Spotify and they’re also new speakers

OK, first things first: Are the bi-ampring brackets screwed down tightly on the back of both speakers? Did you connect the speakers using loose cable ends? If so, double and triple check that no single wire strand has escaped from the binding posts on the speakers and on the Amp.

For the sake of comparison, you could manage Music Services on the Browse tab and enable Radio Paradise. They have four different streams of music in FLAC encoded lossless CD resolution. Does this sound as strange as Spotifiy does? I assume it will, but just to be sure lets try a built-in music service to confirm this.