Spotify/streaming service question?

Iggy

Hi all,

Apologies in advance but I’m a total noob (just 24 hours into WiiM Amp ownership) but loving the sound quality so far through my Diamond 12.2s

At the moment I’m using free Spotify, but do I get any signal/audio quality improvement if I upgrade to a premium paid for version?

If not, is there a standout ‘best’ service for this, even if it has a monthly subscription?

I do have a monthly subscription to Amazon Music which is currently coming through an Alexa, but if you think that’s wasted I could maybe swap that to the WiiM Amp instead?

Sorry for what may be irritating noob questions.

I’m in the UK if that makes any difference?

Thanks in advance.

At the moment I’m using free Spotify, but do I get any signal/audio quality improvement if I upgrade to a premium paid for version?
Yes: https://support.spotify.com/us/article/audio-quality/. The premium streams sound richer to me.

Other services offer lossless and hi-res streams, but whether or not you will notice the difference will depend on your ears, equipment and room. Experiment with the free trials to see.

Each service is different from a music discovery perspective.

With the free Spotify you,ll get advertising too i think?
Dont know i have a paid subscription.
Maybe try a free trial for Spotify or Tidal?
Mostly i use Tidal now..cd quality..

You can start the free month subscription for quite any service and decide by yourself.
It depends from personal tastes but after long and meditated comparison, I choose Tidal, for price, for lossless, for hi-res, for connectivity, for best lyrics management and for not so mainstream suggestions.