Newbie here. Need help for my first Streamer / DAC

vladcristian77

Hello there. I consider myself a newbie/beginner in the audiophile world.

My setup is:
• Taga Harmony TAV-606 Special Edition
• Sony STR-DH190
• Fiio Taishan-D03K
• Supra Cables ZAC Toslink 1m
• RCA cables
• Apple TV 4K (2023) + Apple Music

I want to remove the TV from this setup and switch to a dedicated streamer/DAC for better audio quality and more convenience in my listening experience

I plan to switch from Apple Music to TIDAL and also use a Plex server for my local library.

My question is: What should I choose between the WiiM Pro Plus and WiiM Ultra? Keeping in mind that this will be my first “expensive” DAC and streamer, is it worth spending the extra money on the WiiM Ultra (which costs 400 EUR in my country), or should I stick with the Pro Plus at around 250 EUR?

Will I really benefit from the better DAC in the Ultra?

Thank you!

Welcome.

Some say they can't hear a difference between the pro plus and the ultra analog outs.
If price is the main concern and you don't think you'll want / need the additional functionality the ultra offers (such as sub out, usb out, hdmi in) then, imo, the pro plus would be more than sufficient.

The use of Plex may be an issue for a little while. Don't use it myself, but it seems a bit of a rework is coming in that area and it's only available as a beta test right now.
You could possibly use something else alongside plex in the meantime, such as minimserver or LMS.

The native Plexamp app of course supports Airplay/Google Chromecast, but playback won't be bit-perfect (and not gapless for Chromecast I believe)

As you might have heard by now: there's no Airplay for the recent WiiM devices - Ultra and Amp Pro.

There is a workaround to mimick native Airplay for any chromecast/UPnP endpoint at home in the form of the Airconnect plugin. This would need to be running constantly as a service on a NAS or computer in your network.

Welcome.